Section 518

Where we endeavor to stay positive about the 2011 Mets…

Valuing Carlos Beltran

Posted by JD on February 17, 2011

Dave Studeman of the The Hardball Times published this evaluation of Carlos Beltran’s contract on Monday. I apologize if you’ve seen it already, but I just stumbled upon it today and had to share it. If you’ve read this blog for any amount of time, you know I’m a Beltran fan. Read Studeman’s piece and make your own decision, but know that I couldn’t agree with it more. Sure, it’s a clear-cut case of confirmation bias, but it’s always nice when a comprehensive analysis supports your subjective opinion.

I’m not sure what to expect from Beltran this year, given his injury history and a possible (likely?) position switch, but he’s already justified the big contract he signed in 2005. Some people will never give him a break, but that shouldn’t obscure the excellent seasons he gave us in 2006, 2007, and 2008. Here’s hoping for he bounces back in big way.

2 Responses to “Valuing Carlos Beltran”

  1. I’ve always liked Beltran. In terms of success percentage, no base-stealer in history has been as good as Beltran. Why some Mets fans don’t like him is beyond me. Bill

  2. Mike said

    I’m in. He earned his money. He had his career years here. But I must also admit, I’m ready to move on.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

