Section 518

Where we endeavor to stay positive about the 2011 Mets…

Something Nice

Posted by JD on April 21, 2011

It’s been a frustrating season for Mets fans. The team’s slow start has sucked the enthusiasm from a large part of the fanbase as the losses pile up and the local media piles on. And, quite frankly, it’s gotten to be a bit much for me.

Now, I’m not telling you to stop reacting negatively. You’re a fan: you have every right to express your displeasure in whatever (legal) way you see fit. Heck, I’m sure there will be times when I submit to my frustration and join the chorus of boos. It happens, however unfortunate it may be.

But, being as there’s still more than 140 games left, I’m going to mane an effort to stay positive. In the spirit of a wise cartoon rabbit, rather than saying nothing at all, I’m going to make a point to say something nice about the Mets after each game, no matter how frustrating the action on the field was.

Of course, I chose a day when I couldn’t actually watch the game (I was far too wrapped the NY Rangers’ double-overtime loss) to start this new bit. So, we’ll go with the obvious: Dan Murphy hit his first homer of the year (and first since 2009). Murphy’s homer was also his 15th career home run (I love that the guys over at Amazin’ Avenue call them “Blue Collar Blasts”), which moves him into a six-way tie for 92nd on the franchise’s career home run leaderboard. Joining Murphy are Jerry Buchek, Del Unser, Mackey Sasser, “Super” (I use the term very loosely) Joe McEwing, and the immortal Victor Diaz.

See? I bet you lost sight of the fact that Dan Murphy reached an important career milestone last night. Things are already feeling more positive around here…

…well, not so much. But it’s a start, and it’ll due until things change on the field.

2 Responses to “Something Nice”

  1. Back in ’75, when I was a 12-year old kid, Del Unser played CF and was my other favorite Met (Tom Seaver was always #1). I used to emulate Del Unser’s swing, which had a little hitch in it, when I played ball. He was a fine defender, and a decent line-drive, lead-off hitter.
    Where have you gone, Del Unser?

  2. JD said

    Wow, that’s really cool. I never saw Unser play, but I’m glad this little post got you thinking about him. Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

