Section 518

Where we endeavor to stay positive about the 2011 Mets…

Plugging Bay Into the Lineup

Posted by JD on December 10, 2009

Today the Mets made what is believed to be a 4-year, $65 million offer to Jason Bay. The offer strikes me as a bit ridiculous as it’s only $5 million more than the Red Sox offered to retain him. I think it’s safe to assume that the Red Sox have $10 million available to up the ante, while it’s quite unsafe to assume that the Mets will successfully out bid them.

Whatever. That’s not the point of this post. As I’ve mentioned earlier, I love envisioning lineups. It’s a big part of the fun for me. So let’s do it, with one caveat: I’m going to use the lineup as it is today, with the assumption (huge, I know) that everyone is healthy. With that said, here’s what I’ve got.

SS   Reyes (S)
2B  Castillo (S)
LF  Bay (R)
CF  Beltran (S)
3B  Wright (R)
RF  Francoeur (R)
1B   Murphy (L)
C     Blanco (R)
P     Pitcher

Or

SS   Reyes (S)
2B  Castillo (S)
CF  Beltran (S)
LF  Bay (R)
3B  Wright (R)
RF  Francoeur (R)
1B   Murphy (L)
C     Blanco (R)
P     Pitcher

Some holes there. I’d prefer to keep an even balance between my righties and lefties, but Francoeur makes that difficult. Sub Pagan in there and you could see something like this:

SS   Reyes (S)
RF  Pagan (S)
LF  Bay (R)
CF  Beltran (S)
3B  Wright (R)
1B   Murphy (L)
C     Blanco/Santos (R)
2B  Castillo (S)
P     Pitcher

Wow, I think I like that a whole lot more, especially factoring in Pagan’s propensity for hitting triples. And if they non-tender (snowball’s chance) or trade Francoeur, they can save $5-6 million that can go toward their ludicrously low offer to Bay. Yeah, there’s a very, very slim chance that we’ll actually have to worry about where Bay fits in a Mets lineup, but it was fun to play around with it.

Leave a Reply

 
