Section 518

Where we endeavor to stay positive about the 2011 Mets…

502 Plate Appearances

Posted by JD on December 14, 2009

I blogged yesterday about Robbie Alomar’s time with the Mets and where it stood relative to other Mets’ second basemen. During my analysis, I used 502 plate appearances as a threshold simply because Baseball Reference suggested it. I admitted I didn’t know why they chose that number, but I went with it anyway out of deference to them. Well, now I know, and it’s (not-so) shockingly simple: 502 plate appearances is the minimum needed to qualify for a batting title.

MLB rules state that a player must accumulate 3.1 plate appearances per game to qualify, and that works out to 502 total plate appearances. So, I’m glad I went with Baseball Reference’s suggested threshold, and I’m glad I went through the exercise to begin with. Not only did I learn a little bit more about a future Hall of Famer, but I learned a bit more about how to properly research baseball statistics. It’s a win-win for me.

Leave a Reply

 
