Section 518

Where we endeavor to stay positive about the 2011 Mets…

Judging Jerry

Posted by JD on April 12, 2010

I never really concerned myself with Jerry Manuel’s job security. This isn’t to say that I think he’s the best man for the job: far from it. Rather, I felt that firing Manuel was a largely superficial move. Until the Wilpons changed the way they run their organization and replaced Omar Minaya, changing managers struck me as being little more than moving deck chairs on the Titanic.

As you may have guessed, this no longer strikes me as accurate. Sure, firing Manuel isn’t going to result in a macro improvement, but it could lead to a micro improvement.

To borrow a Bill Parcells analogy: Minaya is responsible for buying the groceries, Manuel is responsible for cooking them, and he’s botching the job. Minaya gave him options at first base while Daniel Murphy heals: Manuel selected the worst one in Mike Jacobs and absurdly compounded his mistake by putting him in the clean-up spot. The world-class centerfielder is injured: Manuel has worsened the issue by giving the majority of playing time to GMJ instead of Angel Pagan. His bullpen management is baffling: he barely used Jenrry Mejia after publicly lobbying for him but needlessly used Fernando Nieve in four consecutive games.

These are all little things, but this roster needs a manager who gets these little things right. The Mets can be greater than the sum of their parts, but they need to put their players in places where they are most likely to succeed. Jerry Manuel isn’t demonstrating an ability to do that anymore (if he ever really did).

Firing Jerry Manuel is not going to cure all of the Mets problems or turn them into instant contenders. But it would lead to incremental gains and go a long way towards maximizing their current assets. It’s not much, but it would be a step in the right direction.

4 Responses to “Judging Jerry”

  1. Paul said

    I agree with you. I expected the bullpen management to be an issue, but I don’t think anybody could have predicted Mike Jacobs: Cleanup Hitter.

    I’m hoping that they can manage a couple of wins on the road trip, but 0-6 would probably be more effective at getting Jerry out the door quicker.

  2. JD said

    I hate to say this but I’d be shocked if they win more than one game. I hope you’re right about Manuel, because it could be a wasted trip otherwise.

    I hate being so negative early in a season, but here we are…

  3. Hey,

    Sorry to contact you this way. My name is Rob Abruzzese. I just started a new Mets blog called Flushing Baseball Daily, could you guys please add my blog to your blogroll? The url is http://www.flushingbaseballdaily.com.

    Thanks,

    Rob

Leave a Reply

 
